Congratulations on your Graduation Day!

Standard

Grad

Congratulations of your Graduation Day! I now have a B.F.A. a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Cinema, no less. Which has prepared me for fuck all but maybe a detailed analysis of the symbolism of the Odessa Steps sequence in that Russian agit prop classic Battleship Potamkin and it better be good because my professor was Miami Herald Film Critic Bill Cosford and he didn’t fuck around. ( Did I just use a run on sentence that has fuck in it twice? ) I aced all my other classes but his. That bastard graded so hard he brought my G.P.A. down to a low B. Oh well I graduated that’s all that matters.

ibMdB_PRKU88

potemkin2 battleship-potemkin

11162829_800

 1379349_10200792224824192_1190745222_n

I did win Best Director Award at the Canes Film Fest, not the Cannes Film Fest as in France, Canes as in Hurricanes. I do hope one day to win a Palme D’Or. My short film was nominated, an excerpt from ” The Biltmore Blues ” a musical comedy I wrote, a story based on true events and set in Depression Era 30’s at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables. It’s about two brothers, one Poz who took the straight and narrow road and now is set to win a historic golf game and the $10,000 prize and the other Ned who took the crooked one and now is who plotting to steal the money in the safe ( which really belongs to mobster Al Capone who was living on the 13 floor ) While everyone is preoccupied during the game…I don’t want to spoil it for you. The script did get some attention and interestingly the approval of Arva Moore Parks who was going to help me get a grant to get it produced before she sadly passed away. The movie never made it to the silver screen but I still have the script in a box in my closet if you want to read it.

119856206_p5afJvqI_1950s_Bilt_5Htext

rc07703Babe_Ruth_Gov

Biltmore 1

cinema-logo97427-1

The graduation ceremony took place on the beautiful University of Miami campus at the Beaumont Theater the same place the Canes Awards were held. It was later renamed the Bill Cosford Cinema. He sadly passed away suddenly from pneumonia after returning from a weeklong ski trip. So I’m sorry I called you a bastard. You taught me well to do fuck all and I do it well and when I win that Palme D’or I’m going to thank you for it. TO BE CONTINUED>>>

2012-canes-film-festival-1_480_423_s

palme-d-or-du-festival-de-cannes-1000x0-1

Best_director_Cannes

Leave a Reply

