I AM “Sanity Claus”!

Standard

Groucho Marx 2

ok so I was Sanity Claus all along. It was me. I took the name from the 1935 Marx Brothers classic “A Night at the Opera.” Groucho playing the part of Otis B. Driftwood, is negotiating a management contract with Fiorello played by his brother Chico when Chico says “Sanity Clause? Everyone knows there ain’t no Sanity Clause!” ( or something to that effect… )

Fiorello: Hey, wait, wait. What does this say here, this thing here?
Driftwood: Oh, that? Oh, that’s the usual clause that’s in every contract. That just says, uh, it says, uh, if any of the parties participating in this contract are shown not to be in their right mind, the entire agreement is automatically nullified.
Fiorello: Well, I don’t know…
Driftwood: It’s all right. That’s, that’s in every contract. That’s, that’s what they call a sanity clause.
Fiorello: Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! You can’t fool me. There ain’t no Sanity Clause!

lI appropriated that phrase as my nom de plume ( my pen name, a pseudonym adopted by an author when they want to conceal their identity ) when I was writing Christmas parodies for a radio show in Miami. I called them X rated X mas tunes. Let’s see I wrote ” Fucking Around the Christmas Tree,” “Deck the Balls” and “Silver Balls” and “Jingle Balls” ( it was a trilogy. ) as well as the holiday classic “Come Like Ol’ Faithful.” Now you can see why I used a nom de plume! But there was one in the bunch that did become a hit of sorts. If was a tale of mall Santa that runs amuck in the women’s lingerie aisle in WalMart. Set to the tune of “Walking in a Winter Wonderland.” it was an instant sensation. I called my epic “Walking in the Mall Without My Pants.” It later enjoyed a rash of success (ouch) on the internet and is well on it’s way to becoming Christmas classic. I just put it on You Tube just in time for the holidays ( with the lyrics! ) So gather the family round with a strong batch of egg nog and enjoy a good old fashion sing along!

HEAR IT HERE: http://www.myspace.com/walkinginthemall

lbgg

TREE

hh

lfi

lf

Leave a Reply

