Musical Chairs part 1

Standard

yeah so I’ve been practicing the world’s second oldest profession, musical prostitution. That’s right I’ve been playing in cover tune bands. You’d think after letting medical students practice genital/rectal exams on you for money, that it would be hard to lower yourself. But believe me, this is truly the bottom rung. They don’t pay shit and it doesn’t matter how good you play, no one’s even listening anyway. The club owner’s treat you like shit. You play your ass off and at the end of the night they try to stiff you and if you dare suggest they keep their end of the bargain, they get physically violent with you. I stand up to the bastards. I’ve had them chase me down the street, calling me every name in the book. The guy from Club M, who I sued on People’s Court ( and won! ) had sucker punched me in the back of the head when I was walking out the front door. Yeah I embarrassed him on national tv, but he should have been arrested for assault.

Then there’s the owner of Stage 84. I played there for free many times at their open mic. I even had my medical marijuana benefits there. So the owner says next time my band plays we’ll get a percentage of the door. So we promote the hell out of the gig and the place is packed. Before the gig is over, this guys sneaks out the backdoor. When I finally track him down a few days later, he tells me “we never agreed on any money.” So we play the gig and bring in all kinds of business and he gets to keep all the money? WTF? I’m talking to this asswipe over the phone and he says, “he doesn’t like my tone.” He tells me if I show up there he’s calling the police and he’s going to “kick my ass hard.” That’s a new one. He’s going to beat me up and call the police on me! These people get away with this shit. They just find another sucker who will play for free. It’s fucking ridiculous the way they treat musicians. My only satisfaction is knowing they eventually go out of business like Club M did soon after I sued them on People’s Court.

watch Space Hippie on People’s Court: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04q9OlujDlA&feature=plcp

One response »

  1. this just in…STAGE 84 is closed! and we’re playing the new place MACK’S House Nano Brewery next Friday night!
    ( oops wrong again, same owners with new name trying to shake their bad rep…oh well )

Leave a Reply

