a chip off the old Lebowski

Standard

 

The door handle on the rear passenger side of my car broke off a few months back. That was a pain in the ass but I could live with it. Then the handle to my driver’s side broke off so now I have to unlock the passenger side and crawl across the front seat. “hey just like the Dude, “my friend said when he saw me doing it. “what? ” “you know the movie the Big Lebowski, that’s how he had to get in his car…” Great I thought, yet another parallel between that movie and my real life.

 

In the cult classic, the Big Lebowski, Jeff Bridges plays an aging hippie down on his luck who deals  gracefully  (abides) with the cruel blows life throws his way, sort of a stoner Rodney Dangerfield. No matter what indignity is heaped upon him, “the Dude abides.” Quite frankly there are way too similarities between my life and that movie for comfort. He’s a former activist who once had his moment of fame and glory (the Seattle Seven is his case) but now long forgotten. He’s a confirmed pot head with a taste for White Russians, a man that lives by his own code. The dude abides, indeed… It turns out that I’m not the only one who relates personally to that movie. I wasn’t aware that there’s a book entitled “I’m a Lebowski, You’re a Lebowski.”

 

If art imitates life and life imitates art why couldn’t mine be more like one of those movies where the guy gets the girl and they live happily ever after? or at least one starring Johnny Depp?

The dude abides….duuuuuude!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

