Baker Acted on Broadwalk

Standard

 

 This is kind of embarrassing but what happened was they Baker Acted Crazy Bill at one of our gigs up on the beach. It was the day we filmed that movie. By the time we got to our other gig, Bill was already half in the bag. Unbeknownst to me he had a flask of whiskey that he had been nipping on all day. Bill’s crazy enough already but hard liquor sends him over the edge. I always said Bill’s only slightly less crazy than me but he’s one hell of a musician who plays the best saxophone I’ve ever heard.  I did notice he started getting loud, talking to himself and laughing maniacally in the first set, but that’s Bill. I thought  his playing was great in the second set, but by the third set he was dropping random atonal horn bombs ala John Coltrane in songs like Brown Eyed Girl. I dug it actually but it freaked out the customers and the place started clearing out. Jake the owner told me to send him packing. But Bill wouldn’t listen and it accelerated when he wouldn’t stop playing. I told him if he didn’t leave they were calling the police. I took cab fare out of the tip jar and gave it to him. I told him I’d bring him his horns later. He still wouldn’t budge. When I tried to push him out the door he turned on me like a wild animal. At this point he was speaking in strange tongues and frothing at the mouth ( turns out he speaks some mysterious Eastern European dialect but they thought he was possessed! ) When he lunged at me, one of the big dudes who works in the kitchen came out and wrestled him down to the pavement. Soon after the cops arrived and put him in the backseat of their cruiser. We were playing another set as they drove away ( the show must go on! )  Anyway he showed up on my doorstep later the next day. He wasn’t arrested. They took him to the hospital and kept him 24 hours for observation. So we will be playing this Friday at Jakes on the Beach 5 – 9pm but Crazy Bill won’t be playing with us.

 p.s. he will however be playing with us Saturday 4 – 8pm at the Organic Brewery!

Leave a Reply

